Starting small
Look beyond the trial.
Check whether a free option continues, what the headcount cap means and which workflows it includes.
Compare access models →HR software comparison · 14 systems
Compare what HR systems actually offer, how pricing works and what to verify. Build a shortlist you can explain, without handing over your email.
Starting small
Check whether a free option continues, what the headcount cap means and which workflows it includes.
Compare access models →Connecting the work
Compare employee records, time off, approvals and the steps between them, not just a long feature list.
Read the profiles →Working across borders
HR records, local payroll and employer-of-record are different services. Verify each country and contract.
Understand the scope →HourSquare publishes this page and is included in the comparison. Official-source research; no universal ranking, review score or paid placement.
Make it your comparison
Filter the directory, then select up to four systems. There is no hidden score or sponsored order.
The documented-capability filter lists systems whose capability is Documented or Scope dependent and leaves out Verify scope ones. It does not mean a listed capability is included in the starting price, and it does not mean a vendor left out lacks the capability. Filters never remove your existing selections.
This hides capabilities that have the same status label across your selection. An identical label does not mean identical scope: package conditions can still differ, so turn it off to read every note. Pricing and access rows always stay visible.
| Your shortlist | HourSquare Publisher’s own product | BambooHR | Zoho People |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pricing & access | Free for nowEvery available module. Free forever for teams of up to 10 people; free for now for larger teams.No card to sign up. No trial expiry. No sales call. If the offer for larger teams changes, HourSquare will tell you first.No seat minimum. Future plan details for larger teams have not been specified.
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first. Pricing evidence (2)
| Published rates differ; confirm a written quoteCurrency: USDper employee per month above 25 employees; flat monthly packages at 25 or fewerMonthly or extended terms; volume discounts; add-on prices require a quote.Flat-rate band is published for 25 or fewer; do not extrapolate an all-in floor from headline PEPM. Its own pages disagree. The headline and FAQ rates differ for the same plan. Ask for a written quote; do not pick whichever looks lower.
No card required; trial ends automatically. Duration was not stated on the checked signup page. No ongoing free paid-product plan established. Published rates (3)
Pricing evidence (1)
| EUR view: from €1.25/user/month, billed annuallyCurrency: EURper user per month; checked European pricing viewRates verified in the live EUR view with Yearly active. Monthly billing is also offered; local taxes are extra. These are not universal USD prices.Published non-US comparison lists a five-user paid minimum; verify the selected regional edition. Above 500 users, request a quote.
Checked EUR view offers an ongoing free edition for up to five users and a 30-day trial. Allowance varies by regional edition; confirm your local signup. Published rates (4)
Pricing evidence (1)
|
| How to start | Self-service: Google or an e-mail code, then a 3-step company setup Review pricing & start | self-service trial plus demo/quote Start Free Trial | self-service trial plus demo Start free trial |
| People records | Documented Directory, employee records and organization structure. Evidence (1)
| Documented Employee records and reporting. Evidence (1) | Documented Employee records, organization data and self-service. Evidence (1)
|
| Time off | Documented Leave requests, balances, policies and calendars. Evidence (1)
| Documented Policies, requests and calendars in HR plans. Evidence (1)
| Documented Leave policies, balances and requests. Evidence (1)
|
| Time & attendance | Documented Attendance, schedules and time tracking. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Time & Attendance is an add-on. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Attendance, timesheets and shifts depend on the selected edition. Evidence (1)
|
| Payroll | Scope dependent Payroll workflows and payslips; country-specific filing, remittance and service scope must be confirmed. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Native add-on is US-only; international payroll uses partners. Delivery: native US / partner international Evidence (2)
| Scope dependent Zoho Payroll is a separate application in the wider suite; country coverage and inclusion vary. Delivery: separate application / regional Evidence (1) |
| Workflows & approvals | Documented Unified approvals, onboarding/offboarding, tasks and process templates. Evidence (1)
| Documented HR workflows and approvals. Evidence (1) | Scope dependent HR automation and approval allowances vary by edition. Evidence (1)
|
| Engagement | Documented Surveys, announcements and employee communication. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Satisfaction tools in Core; wider performance/community tools vary by tier. Evidence (2)
| Scope dependent Engagement and performance capabilities depend on edition. Evidence (1)
|
| Recruiting | Verify scope A full applicant-tracking suite was not established by this review. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent ATS is listed with plan-specific opening allowances. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Talent acquisition is delivered through the broader People Plus / Recruit suite. Delivery: separate application Evidence (1) |
| IT management | Verify scope Equipment records exist; full device provisioning and identity automation were not established. Evidence (1)
| Verify scope Confirm device-management and access-provisioning needs; HR integrations alone do not establish a full IT suite. Evidence (1) | Verify scope Suite collaboration or password tools do not establish full device and application administration. Evidence (1) |
| Employer of record | Verify scope Employer-of-record service was not established by this review. Evidence (1)
| Scope dependent Remote-powered EOR; payroll and benefits handled in Remote. Delivery: partner Evidence (1) | Verify scope An employer-of-record entitlement was not established in the reviewed People sources. Evidence (2)
|
Publisher’s own product
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first.
Review pricing & start
Directory, employee records and organization structure.
Leave requests, balances, policies and calendars.
Attendance, schedules and time tracking.
Payroll workflows and payslips; country-specific filing, remittance and service scope must be confirmed.
Unified approvals, onboarding/offboarding, tasks and process templates.
Surveys, announcements and employee communication.
A full applicant-tracking suite was not established by this review.
Equipment records exist; full device provisioning and identity automation were not established.
Employer-of-record service was not established by this review.
Selected system
Its own pages disagree. The headline and FAQ rates differ for the same plan. Ask for a written quote; do not pick whichever looks lower.
No card required; trial ends automatically. Duration was not stated on the checked signup page. No ongoing free paid-product plan established.
Start Free Trial
Employee records and reporting.
Policies, requests and calendars in HR plans.
Time & Attendance is an add-on.
Native add-on is US-only; international payroll uses partners.
Delivery: native US / partner international
HR workflows and approvals.
Satisfaction tools in Core; wider performance/community tools vary by tier.
ATS is listed with plan-specific opening allowances.
Confirm device-management and access-provisioning needs; HR integrations alone do not establish a full IT suite.
Remote-powered EOR; payroll and benefits handled in Remote.
Delivery: partner
Selected system
Checked EUR view offers an ongoing free edition for up to five users and a 30-day trial. Allowance varies by regional edition; confirm your local signup.
Start free trial
Employee records, organization data and self-service.
Leave policies, balances and requests.
Attendance, timesheets and shifts depend on the selected edition.
Zoho Payroll is a separate application in the wider suite; country coverage and inclusion vary.
Delivery: separate application / regional
HR automation and approval allowances vary by edition.
Engagement and performance capabilities depend on edition.
Talent acquisition is delivered through the broader People Plus / Recruit suite.
Delivery: separate application
Suite collaboration or password tools do not establish full device and application administration.
An employer-of-record entitlement was not established in the reviewed People sources.
Save your shortlist with sources and questions for each vendor. No email address required. Prices are not normalised across countries or currencies.
A short guide
Six checks that work for any of the 14 systems. None of them needs a demo; all of them need the vendor's own pricing page and one real request of yours.
Write down the three things that go wrong today: a missed leave balance, a late payslip, an onboarding step nobody owns. Those are your must-have workflows; everything else is nice to have.
Ask for the complete monthly bill at your headcount: base fees, seat minimums, add-ons for time tracking or payroll, implementation and country services. A low per-employee rate can hide a minimum of 15 or 25 seats.
A free plan continues; a trial ends. Check the headcount cap, what the free plan includes and what happens at the first hire above the cap. Three systems here document an ongoing free option; use the access filter to see them.
HR records, local payroll and employer-of-record are different services. For each country, ask who files, who pays and what the setup fee is. "Global" on a homepage rarely means every module in every country.
Create a fictional employee, submit a time-off request, decide it as a manager and run a joiner checklist. Try it on a phone. Note every manual step; that is your real implementation cost.
Before you load your records, find the exports for people, time and pay data. A system you cannot leave is a price you have not seen yet.
Want one vendor at a time? The head-to-head pages put HourSquare next to BambooHR, Personio, Deel, Rippling and others with the same rows and sources, and the free HR software roundup covers teams under 10. Leaving spreadsheets? Start with when to switch and what a move involves.
The long view
HourSquare, our own product, appears first and is marked. The other systems follow alphabetically. This order is not a ranking. The same source and scope checks apply to every profile.
HourSquare · Publisher’s own product
HourSquare brings people records, time off, time tracking, payroll workflows, employee processes and reporting into one workspace. Free forever for teams of up to 10 people, with every available module; free for now for larger teams, and HourSquare tells you first if that changes. No card is needed to sign up. You start with Google or an e-mail code, finish the existing three-step company setup, add people by hand or by CSV import with a preview, and invite them when you are ready. A shared approvals page gives authorized reviewers a place to act on requests, and the support centre accepts feature requests. A practical option for everyday HR administration; confirm country-specific payroll, integration and permission requirements before depending on them. Employer-of-record services and a recruiting suite are not established by this review.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Teams seeking connected everyday HR, including small teams evaluating an ongoing free option.
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first.
Free access or trial
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
Official-source profile
ADP Workforce Now organizes payroll and HR into Select, Plus and Premium packages, with further add-ons. The reviewed US offer includes payroll and tax services in the base package; Plus adds benefits administration, and Premium adds workforce management with time collection and leave requests. Recruiting appears under add-ons, even where a comparison-table cell can look like an inclusion. Employee engagement surveys and onboarding are also described in the core package. Pricing is quote-led, with self-guided demonstrations available, so a walkthrough should not be mistaken for a free subscription. For a payroll-led evaluation, confirm tax jurisdictions, pay frequency, implementation charges, minimums, benefits connections and optional modules. Global HR records alone do not establish identical payroll or employment services in every country.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Midsized and larger employers; this review covers the US-oriented Workforce Now offer. Confirm country-specific services rather than extrapolating global HR records to local payroll.
Quote only. No complete price is published, so none is shown, ranked or totalled.
Self-guided demo and sales quote available. No free plan or time-limited product trial established in the reviewed pages.
Free access or trial
Self-guided demo and sales quote available. No free plan or time-limited product trial established in the reviewed pages.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
BambooHR brings employee records, hiring, onboarding, time off and people reporting into one HR platform. Its package structure separates the HR foundation from payroll and time-and-attendance additions, which matters when comparing a complete operating cost. The current pricing page is internally inconsistent: headline Core and Pro rates differ from its FAQ, so a written quote is the dependable next step. International teams can use its HR tools, while native payroll is marked for US employees and global employment uses partners, including Remote. A public trial signup is available without a card and ends automatically; that is different from an ongoing free subscription. Evaluate the actual approval paths, hiring limits and country-specific payroll handoffs with your own requirements.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): HR teams managing employees domestically or internationally. Native payroll and benefits administration are explicitly US-employee services; global employment uses localized partners. No invented headcount recommendation.
Its own pages disagree. The headline and FAQ rates differ for the same plan. Ask for a written quote; do not pick whichever looks lower.
No card required; trial ends automatically. Duration was not stated on the checked signup page. No ongoing free paid-product plan established.
Free access or trial
No card required; trial ends automatically. Duration was not stated on the checked signup page. No ongoing free paid-product plan established.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
CharlieHR focuses on small-company HR administration: employee information, onboarding, leave, performance reviews and engagement. Its standard subscription is priced by company headcount bands rather than a single per-employee rate. The current pricing page starts at twenty-one pounds per month for one to four people, excluding UK VAT; older promotional snippets should not replace that checked price. Charlie Recruit and the Charlie Grow advisory service extend the offering at additional cost. Payroll and timesheet needs involve named integrations, so include those systems in the evaluation. A seven-day trial is available without a card, but Grow and Recruit are not automatically included. Compare the complete headcount band, partner tools and advisory requirements against the HR work your team needs to perform.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Small companies; the reviewed UK offer uses GBP headcount bands and excludes UK VAT. Confirm local applicability for international workers.
Seven-day trial, no card required. Grow and Recruit are not automatically included. No ongoing free plan established.
Free access or trial
Seven-day trial, no card required. Grow and Recruit are not automatically included. No ongoing free plan established.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Deel serves organizations combining direct employees, contractors and employer-of-record workers across countries. Its current HRIS page describes a paid Core foundation for profiles, time off, time tracking and workflows, followed by higher tiers for talent and planning. That makes older blanket descriptions of free Deel HR unsafe to reuse. Global payroll, contractor services, EOR, recruiting and IT have their own commercial scope; their starting prices are not interchangeable with an HR subscription. Deel IT documents device logistics, access and lifecycle operations, which may matter for distributed teams. Evaluate each employment model and country separately, including who is the legal employer and what the quoted fee covers. The public journey offers demos and a direct contractor-start link.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Distributed and international organizations with direct employees, contractors and EOR workers. HR country coverage and each employment service have different scope; validate target countries individually.
Current HR pages publish paid tiers. Free demo verified; no ongoing free-HRIS entitlement established. Terms allow discretionary trial/preview features, which is not a universal trial promise.
Free access or trial
Current HR pages publish paid tiers. Free demo verified; no ongoing free-HRIS entitlement established. Terms allow discretionary trial/preview features, which is not a universal trial promise.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Factorial combines people administration with time, talent, finance and IT products. Its Core package includes directory, onboarding, documents and payslip distribution, while a tailored selection adds capabilities such as attendance, recruiting or engagement. The US-facing pricing page advertises a starting monthly per-user amount, so it should be treated as a package entry point rather than an all-inclusive quote. Payroll documentation includes provider connections and preparation workflows; buyers should establish the exact local processing service. The main entry route is a demo. Trial access is discretionary and market-specific, and a current European AI promotion has explicit eligibility and expiry conditions. Evaluate it when operational HR, scheduling and adjacent business tools need to be assessed together, with country and module requirements clearly listed.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Official UK content explicitly addresses small and growing businesses; the platform offers localized markets and industry solutions. No global employee-size recommendation is inferred.
Terms allow market-specific trials, ordinarily no more than 15 calendar days, with exceptions at Factorial discretion. Free personal AI capacity exists but does not establish free full HR access.
Restricted promotion, not an ongoing offer: AI Reset. Eligible new companies in Spain, Italy, France, Germany or Portugal with 20–1,000 staff; apply and complete process by October 31, 2026. Eligible AI-plan access free through December 31, 2026; conditions apply.
Free access or trial
Terms allow market-specific trials, ordinarily no more than 15 calendar days, with exceptions at Factorial discretion. Free personal AI capacity exists but does not establish free full HR access.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Gusto is a payroll-led option for US employers, with HR records, hiring, onboarding, benefits and people tools around that foundation. Its published plans make the base monthly charge and per-person charge visible, while separating single-state payroll from higher-tier multi-state needs. Time tracking, surveys, directory features and software provisioning depend on plan or add-on choices. Creating an account is free, but that should not be presented as a permanent free payroll subscription. International contractor payments are distinct from employer-of-record employment. Notably, the current onboarding guide says new customers from May 2026 are referred directly to Remote for EOR, even though general marketing still mentions Gusto Global. Confirm the current route before promising an integrated international employee service.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Small businesses and teams without a dedicated HR department are explicitly addressed. Payroll operates across all 50 US states; plan choice differentiates single- and multi-state needs.
Free account setup is explicit. A Time & Attendance Plus trial is advertised separately; do not portray that as a general free payroll plan.
Base subscription estimate. Simple $109 per month ($49 + 10 × $6); Plus $200 per month ($80 + 10 × $12); Premium $400 per month ($180 + 10 × $22). USD for 10 people. Base subscription estimate only, excluding add-ons, benefit premiums and service-specific charges.
Free access or trial
Free account setup is explicit. A Time & Attendance Plus trial is advertised separately; do not portray that as a general free payroll plan.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
HarmonyHR combines employee administration, onboarding, leave calendars, surveys and performance reviews, with a separately priced applicant tracking product. Its public positioning includes both hosted and on-premise deployment, making deployment ownership a useful evaluation question. Pricing starts at a published employee rate, but the page’s sample calculator does not reproduce that starting rate; obtain a written configuration and billing quote. The recruiting product uses a different unit: recruiter seats rather than employee records. A demo is the visible entry point, and the reviewed material does not establish an ongoing free plan or trial. Check approval rules, reporting, implementation responsibilities and the precise payroll or attendance connections needed in each country before treating the broader HR toolkit as a complete operating stack.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): International HR teams considering SaaS or on-premise deployment. Country-specific payroll and employment services must be checked separately.
Demo offered; reviewed pages do not establish a free subscription or trial entitlement.
Free access or trial
Demo offered; reviewed pages do not establish a free subscription or trial entitlement.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
HiBob’s Bob platform starts with Core HR and extends into talent, payroll, planning and compensation. Its current Core description emphasizes shared people data, employee self-service and lifecycle workflows for growing organizations, including global teams. Time off is included in Core, while attendance is an add-on; hiring is an advertised ATS rather than merely an external integration. The pricing path builds a custom proposal from company size and selected capabilities, without publishing a numeric subscription rate. A free demo is an evaluation conversation, not evidence of a free account or trial. For a shortlist, examine the boundaries between native US or UK payroll and Payroll Hub integrations, and request module, implementation and renewal terms in writing.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Growing organizations and global businesses are explicitly addressed. Size navigation includes startup, SMB, mid-market and enterprise; do not invent a preferred employee range.
Quote only. No complete price is published, so none is shown, ranked or totalled.
Free demo and product tour verified. No public ongoing free subscription or self-service trial was established from checked pages.
Free access or trial
Free demo and product tour verified. No public ongoing free subscription or self-service trial was established from checked pages.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Personio combines employee records, documents, time management and workflow automation, with a strong stated focus on European and UK HR operations. Core and Core Pro provide different administrative limits, while recruiting, surveys and other specialist tools can be added. Pricing is tailored to headcount and selected apps; the published pricing page also identifies an initial setup fee. Buyers should distinguish preliminary payroll preparation from the payroll product or integrations available in their country. International employment is offered through Remote. Although the main commercial path is a demo and quote, Personio also publishes a fourteen-day trial with sample data, no credit card and automatic expiry. It is worth evaluating when local HR administration and structured workflows are central buying requirements.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Official Core HR page emphasizes Europe and the UK. The pricing FAQ says 10–10,000 employees; this is vendor positioning, not a minimum purchase requirement.
Quote only. No complete price is published, so none is shown, ranked or totalled.
Core functions with sample data; no card or cancellation needed; automatic end after 14 days. This is not a permanent free subscription.
Free access or trial
Core functions with sample data; no card or cancellation needed; automatic end after 14 days. This is not a permanent free subscription.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Rippling connects HR, payroll, IT and finance through shared employee data and cross-system workflows. That breadth makes it relevant when onboarding also needs to trigger account access, equipment and other operational changes. Its product catalog includes time and attendance, recruiting, surveys and international employment, but a catalog entry does not mean every capability is included in the entry price. The official pricing FAQ currently advertises plans starting at eight dollars per employee monthly plus a base fee, followed by a custom quote. A six-month startup offer has eligibility restrictions and is not a universal free plan. Buyers should define their required applications, countries and automation rules before comparing a written total with narrower HR products.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): The platform addresses businesses of different sizes and international employment. The startup promotion is specifically limited to eligible US VC-backed companies; no general headcount recommendation is invented.
Demo/quote route verified. Pricing FAQ advertises six months for eligible US VC-backed startups, conditional on funding status and stage; not a universal trial or perpetual free plan.
Free access or trial
Demo/quote route verified. Pricing FAQ advertises six months for eligible US VC-backed startups, conditional on funding status and stage; not a universal trial or perpetual free plan.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
TalentHR combines employee records, leave, onboarding and applicant tracking with higher-tier time tracking, performance and employee surveys. The ongoing free plan covers up to ten users, while a separate fourteen-day Premium trial exposes paid capabilities without a card. Its annual price display is straightforward, but a paid subscription starts at fifteen users and grows in blocks of five; that matters immediately after a team outgrows the free allowance. Workflow automation is currently labelled beta, and time tracking requires Premium. Asset records should not be confused with full device administration. Consider the product around the HR tasks actually needed, then validate workflow limits, hiring allowances, payroll connections and the paid-seat calculation before treating the advertised user rate as the entire cost.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Self-service HR platform marketed to startups, small and midsized teams, with multilingual and multi-location controls. Local payroll obligations require separate verification.
Ongoing Free plan up to ten users; separate 14-day Premium trial, no credit card required.
Free access or trial
Ongoing Free plan up to ten users; separate 14-day Premium trial, no credit card required.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Workday covers core HR, talent, workforce management and payroll across a broad HCM portfolio. It serves large organizations, but its Workday GO offering also explicitly targets businesses with fewer than 3,500 employees, so an enterprise-only label would be misleading. The public pages lead to sales and demonstrations rather than a published subscription amount. Payroll reach combines native products with partners; broad country coverage is not evidence of a native payroll engine in every location. Recruiting, employee listening, time and absence should be scoped against the actual purchased modules. Evaluate organizational complexity, reporting, implementation ownership and country-specific payroll delivery together. A useful comparison starts with a configured proposal and demonstrated workflows, not an assumed per-person price or an inferred trial entitlement.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Global organizations and midsized businesses; Workday GO explicitly addresses employers with fewer than 3,500 employees. Product, implementation and country scope must be contracted.
Quote only. No complete price is published, so none is shown, ranked or totalled.
Request-demo and contact-sales routes are available. A demo is not an established free subscription or trial.
Free access or trial
Request-demo and contact-sales routes are available. A demo is not an established free subscription or trial.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Official-source profile
Zoho People offers employee records and leave management, with attendance, timesheets, performance and learning expanding through its editions. It also sits inside the broader Zoho ecosystem: People Plus combines multiple applications, so recruiting and payroll should not be assumed to belong to every People subscription. The live pricing view checked for this review used euros and an annual billing selector; regional editions and free-user allowances can differ. A thirty-day trial provides a self-service evaluation route, distinct from the limited ongoing free edition. This is worth comparing when HR processes must connect to other Zoho tools. Confirm the applicable regional plan, paid-seat minimum, approval limits, payroll-country support and separate application charges before estimating a complete monthly bill.
Stated audience (vendor positioning, not a recommendation): Organizations managing HR across locations, including existing Zoho users. Regional editions, currencies, app availability and payroll jurisdictions differ.
Checked EUR view offers an ongoing free edition for up to five users and a 30-day trial. Allowance varies by regional edition; confirm your local signup.
Free access or trial
Checked EUR view offers an ongoing free edition for up to five users and a 30-day trial. Allowance varies by regional edition; confirm your local signup.
Official pages reviewed for this profile. Product pages are evidence of advertised scope, not independent testing.
How the evidence was handled
Why consider HourSquare?
These are the differences we can show, from a company that publishes this page. Your team’s needs should decide whether they matter.
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first. Every available module, no card to sign up.
Sign up with Google or an e-mail code, finish the 3-step company setup (company details, country defaults, what you need first) and invite people when you are ready. No demo, no sales call.
People, time off, working time, approvals and pay in one system: one record per person, one Approvals inbox for the requests your role can decide, timesheets that feed payroll.
CSV import with a preview, personal calendar feeds, company sign-in with Okta, Microsoft Entra or Google, a public REST API, and payment and accountant exports in your own layout.
Since June 2026: recurring pulse surveys, an approval engine with configurable flows, company SSO, API keys, an expenses module, a rebuilt approvals inbox. We say what shipped; we do not promise dates.
Send a feature request through the in-product support centre. Submission does not guarantee delivery or a response time.
Inside the actual product
See who is asking, the dates and the available details. What each person can review follows the company’s setup and their permissions.

A comparison you can inspect
Published by HourSquare, a product in this comparison. This is official-source desk research, not an independent award or a hands-on test of every vendor. We did not use the other products. This page has no affiliate links, sponsored placements or paid ordering, and we do not assign a universal winner, a score or a rating.
Vendor product, pricing, trial and service pages. Each profile links to its evidence and keeps the scope conditions visible. Starting prices are not total cost: base fees, seat minimums, billing terms, modules, implementation and country services can change the bill. Conflicting official prices are flagged rather than silently resolved, a quoted price is never read as free or zero, and prices are never converted between currencies.
The picker lists all 14 systems alphabetically. The profile directory lists HourSquare first because it is the publisher’s own product, then the alternatives alphabetically. Your selection lives in this page session only: it is not saved, shared or sent anywhere, and it resets when you reload.
The product screens come from the current Hub, using a fictional company; the product tour shows them with their limits. The feature-request claim describes the in-product support request category: a request channel, not a public voting board or a promise of delivery. The "still being built" list names features that shipped between June and October 2026, as recorded in the product's own change history; it is not a roadmap.
“Free forever for teams of up to 10 people.” is the owner’s standing commitment, stated separately from the current offer for larger teams (Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first.). It is not a billing rule. Future plan details have not been specified.
Research checked 25 October 2026 (Asia/Tbilisi). Each source shows its own check date. Reconfirm prices, country coverage and contractual obligations with each vendor before buying. This page is a starting point for evaluation, not a substitute for a security review or legal advice.
If a price, a capability or a source on this page is out of date or wrong, tell us and we will check it against the vendor's own pages and correct it.
The right system depends on the work, countries, team and service you need. Start with must-have workflows, then compare the complete package and test it with realistic examples. This comparison does not assign a universal winner.
Free forever for teams of up to 10 people. Free for now for larger teams. If that changes, we'll tell you first. Every available module is included, with no card to sign up and no trial expiry. Future plan details have not been specified.
Of the 14 systems here, three document an ongoing free option on their own pages: HourSquare, TalentHR (up to 10 users, with a 15-user minimum on paid plans) and Zoho People (up to 5 users). Several others offer a trial, which ends. Use the "Ongoing free option documented" filter above and read the caps in each profile.
A free plan continues for as long as you stay within its limits (usually a headcount cap or a feature cap). A trial gives full access for a fixed number of days and then asks you to pay. Vendors use "free" for both, so check which one a pricing page means before you evaluate it.
It depends on the system and on how much you bring. For HourSquare we can describe the path, not a time: sign up with Google or an e-mail code, complete the 3-step company setup, import people from a CSV with a preview, then set leave policies and approvers and invite the team when you are ready. Other vendors publish an implementation path of their own; some involve a sales or onboarding call.
No. “Documented” means the vendor describes the capability. “Scope dependent” flags known package, add-on, country or partner conditions. Read the notes and request an itemized quote.
Some vendors require a quote. Other pages contain regional differences, conditional starting rates or conflicting figures. We preserve those limits instead of estimating a price that may be wrong.
Use a fictional employee, a time-off request, a manager decision and a joiner checklist. Test roles, mobile use, exports and your actual country requirements. Record what works and what needs a manual step.
Do not assume that a people import also transfers policies, opening balances, historical requests, payroll records, documents or integrations. Define and validate each data type before inviting the team.
A useful next step
Turn current HR research into a practical action and a measure for your team.
Explore the evidence →PrepareLeave with a setup checklist based on your team and the work you need to organize.
Build your plan →Try itFree forever for teams of up to 10 people; free for now for larger teams. Read the current offer before you decide to start.
Review pricing & start →